Friday, March 28, 2014


Princess Pink and the Land of Fake-Believe #1: Moldylocks and the Three Beards (A Branches Book)

Princess (a girl who is not a princess and who doesn't like pink or anything princess-y) falls through a portal in her fridge and lands in the Land of Fake-Believe. There she meets a girl named Moldylocks, and they go to the house of the Three Beards in search of food. What Princess finds is just a shade off from what someone familiar with the Goldilocks story might expect - and that is exactly the point of this new series in the Branches line of transitional chapter books. When I told my students about the story, the ones who are into princess-y stories weren't quite sure what to do with this one. Other kids really got a kick out of a girl named Princess who liked mud puddles and monster trucks, and they thought the "three beards" was hilarious. I think this has appeal for both groups of readers.

3 out of 5 stars
No AR reading level at this time.

Book 2, Little Read Quackinghood releases in August 2014

No comments:

Post a Comment